“Bruce is a great asset to the Fort Worth community and I would recommend his services with the utmost sincerity.”- Brian C.
“Bruce and I were room- mates and I found Bruce to be a wonderful human being, with high ideals and a moral conviction to always to do his best and treat people with dignity and respect. After graduating from Southwestern University, Bruce went on to law sc”- Michael P.
“Bruce has helped me through more than one difficult situation; He is someone you can rely on implicitly.”- Ryan S.
Why Choose Us?
Free Phone Consultation
Over 25 Years of Experience
Direct Access to the Attorney
Genuine Care and Compassion for Our Clients
Comprehensive Immigration Services
Marijuana laws across the United States have changed with the times, but possessing, growing or selling marijuana is still illegal in the Fort Worth area and throughout Texas. If you’ve been arrested and charged with a marijuana-related offense, it’s wise to hire an attorney who has experience handling marijuana cases.
In the Lone Star State, there’s a significant difference between being charged with possession of marijuana and selling marijuana. Charges for both vary widely depending on the amount. Regardless of the amount, a marijuana conviction comes with some significant penalties. Bruce Beasley has been successfully practicing law in the Fort Worth area for more than 30 years.
The Beasley Law Firm Will Fight for You
Having served his clients for over three decades, Attorney Bruce Beasley has the kind of experience that’s required to successfully defend you against marijuana and marijuana -related charges. He knows the laws, and he knows how to protect your rights.
Although marijuana may be decriminalized in the future, it’s still illegal in Texas and under federal law. If you’ve been arrested for the possession or sale of marijuana or marihuana related offenses in the Fort Worth area, the Beasley Law Firm knows how to protect your rights. Don’t gamble on an attorney who rarely handles a marijuana or marihuana related case. There’s no substitute for experience. Get the best representation you can. Your future depends on it.
Crimes of Possession and Cultivation
It is illegal to possess or cultivate any amount of marijuana in the state, and doing so could result in misdemeanor or felony penalties depending on the amount in question:
- Up to 2 ounces – Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or $2,000 in fines
- 2-4 ounces – Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or $4,000 in fines
- 4 ounces to 5 pounds – state jail felony punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or 180 days to 2 years in prison
- 5-50 pounds – third degree felony punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or 2-10 years in prison
- 50-2,000 pounds – second degree felony punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or 2-20 years in prison
- More than 2,000 pounds – felony punishable by 5-99 years in prison and/or up to $50,000 in fines
The penalties may increase if the offense occurred in a drug-free zone, such as within a certain distance of a school, playground, or youth center.
Possession of paraphernalia that may have been used to consume or distribute marijuana is a Class C misdemeanor that carries a fine of $500 and no jail time.
Sale of Marijuana or Possession with Intent to Sell
It is also illegal to sell marijuana or even to merely possess marijuana with the intent to sell. The penalties will depend on the amount sold or possessed with intent to sell, as above:
- Gift of up to 0.25 ounces – Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of as much as $2,000
- Selling up to 0.25 ounces – Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or up to $4,000 in fines
- 0.25 ounces to 5 pounds – state jail felony punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or 180 days to 2 years in prison
- 5-50 pounds – second degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or 2-20 years in prison
- 50-2,000 pounds – first degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or 5-99 years in prison
- More than 2,000 pounds – felony punishable by 10-99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $100,000
Selling paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor and may be punished with a fine of up to $4,000 and/or up to 1 year in jail.
Sale of marijuana to a minor or within a drug-free zone may increase the charge to the next criminal level, and sale of paraphernalia to a minor is a state jail felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or between 180 days and 2 years in prison.
If you have been charged with a crime of marijuana, whether a misdemeanor or felony, contact an experienced defense attorney immediately for legal representation. Texas treats marijuana offenses very seriously, and marijuana possession or distribution is punishable severely under both state and federal law. As a result, it is in your best interests to retain knowledgeable and experienced legal counsel as soon as possible to combat charges against you that could subject unfairly you to decades in prison.
Contact an Fort Worth Marijuana Lawyer Today
Being arrested for a marijuana-related offense is a scary thing. The punishment for possessing or distributing marijuana or marijuana related illegal substances can be very steep. Fort Worth criminal defense attorney Bruce Beasley understands how the criminal justice system works. We have represented many Texans accused of marijuana and marijuana related possession and sale. We’re ready to fight for you. Contact Beasley Law Firm online or at (817) 440-7707 for a free consultation to get started.